Naples is an Italian municipality of 978,399 inhabitants, capital of the metropolitan city of the same name, in the Region of Campania, the third in Italy for population, center of one of the most populous and densely populated in the European Union.

Naples rises up almost at the center of the gulf of the same name, nominated by the volcanic range of the Vesuvio and delimited on the east end by the Sorrento Peninsula with Punta Campanella, on the weat end by

Phlegrean Fields Fields with Monte Procida, on the north-west end by the southern side of the valley of Campania, extended from the Patria Lake all the way to the Nola area. The historical center has been developed mostly along the coast.
The territory of Naples is composed mainly by hills (many of which exceed the 150 meters in height, to go up to the 452 meters of the Camaldoli Hill), but also by islands, inlet, and peninsulas jutting out on the Tyrrhenian Sea.
The urban territory, delimited on the west end by the volcanic complex with multiple craters of the Phlegraean Fields, and on the east end by the Mount Somma-Vesuvio, has a geologically complex history. The substratum on which lies the city is of mainly volcanic origin, and it is the product of a series of eruptions from the two complexes. As for the group of the Plegraean Fields, happened in the late Pliocene or Early Quaternary, several authors distinguish three periods of activity, denominated Archiflegreo, ancient cycle (which lead to the formation of the characteristic yellow tuff of Naples) and recent cycle of the Plegraean Fields.